Various Artists : The Garden Of Forking Path (Important Records)

« The Garden Of Forking Paths » was compiled for Important Records by guitarist James Blackshaw. Compositions were recorded specially for this collection by Helena Espeval (Espers), James Blackshaw, Jozef van Wissem and Chieko Mori. Beautifully assembled, « The Garden Of Forking Paths » serves as a singular and particularly unique musical statement. The story of how this compilation came into being is, unlike many other stories I could mention, a relatively simple one. James Blackshaw says of the project, ‘My wish was to put together a compilation of experimental music for solo stringed instruments, with little to no overdubs, that would hold up well as a thoughtful and engaging experience as an entirety, from beginning to end, much as I would if I were recording and sequencing an album myself. Given my own history of composing music for solo 12-string guitar, it may come as no surprise to hear that I have for a long time connected with such music in a very immediate and personal way and when the notion of curation a compilation first entered my mind, only a couple of months or so ago now – an idea also, I believe, born out of a desire for a new creative challenge involving others and a wish to hear my own music in a different context – it was immediately apparent who I would like to contribute.’

~ par xanakse sur février 25, 2008.

Laisser un commentaire

 
